My Newest (Healthy) Addiction

Coconut Oil Coffee

For the past week I have been adding 1 Tbsp of virgin coconut oil to my morning coffee. And it has made a world of difference.

When I was sick in China last month I spent quite a bit of time online ‘researching’ (Googling) ways to boost health. I came across this post by The Health Home Economist about getting your fats rights and realized that I do not include nearly enough GOOD FAT in my diet.

Once I got started reading about eating whole nutrient dense foods things quickly got out of hand. There is a lot of advice out there about how to be more healthful. But in order to not get overwhelmed I am taking things one step at a time. This week’s healthy change has been adding coconut oil to my coffee.

Things I’ve noticed:

~Gives me tons of morning energy. Something that I normally lack.

~The coffee ‘high’ lasts a lot longer than it usually would since I’m metabolizing it with the fat. Don’t need that second cup of coffee.

~Adds a lovely nutty flavor, so no need to add sugar like I would otherwise be tempted to do.

~My out of control sweet tooth cravings are not an issue for the rest of the day. For me personally this is the biggest one since I’ve always had a pretty sizeable sugar problem. 

So How Does It Work?

Step 1: Make Coffee

P5163069

Step 2: Add 1 Tbsp Virgin Coconut Oil to Cup

P5163066

Step 3: Mix and Enjoy

P5163074 (2) 

Would I Recommend It?

Absolutely. Especially if you are trying to find small ways to be more healthy, this is a delicious place to start. I’ve read that you can have your coconut oil in tea as well, but since I’m a coffee lover I have yet to try it.

It’s not the cheapest thing in the world, organic virgin coconut oil. I spent approximately US $6.00 on a jar that lasted me about a week from Planet Organic in London. I’ve read that Trader Joe’s is a good source in the US. In all honesty, without the coconut oil boost I would have spent that amount on afternoon Starbucks coffees, pain au chocolates, or tempting muffins anyways.

Let’s not forget about long-term health. I’m not a doctor so I will just link you to the studies: 1.) Coconut oil’s medium chain triglycerides can help protect the brain from Alzheimer’s. 2.) Over-consumption of sugar is linked to the development of not just Diabetes, but also Alzheimer’s.

More Coconut Oil + Less Sugar = More Health

Have you ever made ‘bulletproof’ coffee with coconut oil or grass-fed butter? How did the good fats affect your day?

 

 

Leave a Reply

